Contemplation
Comments 10

Contemplation, Week 11

Hello! Welcome to week 11 of Contemplationwhere Desley from musings of a frequent flying scientist, chooses a prompt from her Kikki.K  A Sentence a Day Journal and invites us to share our response.

Feels good to have this wonderful series back after a few weeks off.

* my post from Week 10, here *

Today’s prompt: What’s the next book you’re going to read?

Before I get to what’s next, a little about my current read which is Rainbow Rowell’s sweet story Eleanor & Park. Although I’m nowhere near finished yet, so far I’m enjoying it and it’s brought up feelings of nostalgia about my first love story, when I was 14. The way the characters talk about falling in love and describe it in quirky metaphors has struck a chord with me and surprised me.

Definitely recommend giving it a read if you fancy a break from ‘’grown up‘’ stories and want to dive back in time for a moment.

Back to today’s question, my next book is between:

The Life Changing Magic of Tidying by Marie Kondo, a Japanese cleaning consultant. The book includes detailed guidance for determining which items in your house “spark joy” (and which don’t), this international best seller featuring Tokyo’s newest lifestyle phenomenon will help you clear your clutter and enjoy the unique magic of a tidy home – and the calm, motivated mind-set it can inspire. (Goodreads)

OR

When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi, a book about an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the challenges of facing mortality and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a gifted writer who became both.  (Goodreads)

Both very different from what I’m reading now, but I want to mix it up and not stick to one genre.

So how about you, what’s next on your reading list?

10 Comments

  1. Hi!! I’ve heard a lot about the Kon Marie method, mainly from watching YouTube videos. One of the vloggers I watch regularly did it and recorded her process and then YouTube kept recommending the same type of video for me all the time. It was really interesting, I love the idea of “sparking joy” but you need practical things too right? Still, I want to read the book as well. Ooooo maybe we should start a book club! Your YA book about love sounds wonderful, I used to read a lot of YA and have a lot in my “to be read” pile, I’m excited to dive back in. X

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ninette D.S says

      Definitely dive back into YA books every now and again I say! 🙂 and I agree we need practical stuff too, but I’m also ashamed to admit I hold onto a lot of useless things haha so maybe the book will help. I might give one of the videos a watch, I didn’t know anyone had recorded their experience.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Contemplation 11 – Reading List. – musings of a frequent flying scientist

  3. Pingback: Contemplation, Week 12 | XO NIN

Leave a Reply

