Blogging
Comments 6

Contemplation, Week 4

Hello! And welcome to Week 4 of Contemplation.

Thanks again to Desley from musings of a frequent flying scientist, for starting the Contemplation seriesEach week Desley chooses a prompt from her Kikki.K A Sentence a Day Journal and invites us to share our response. Here are my posts from Week one + two + three.

This week’s prompt: Name one thing you should do more often.

There’s always something that I wish I could do more often for example,

Relax because stress no matter how big or a small a problem is never healthy but has in the last few months become my middle name. I’m working on changing this but as usual I wanted results yesterday.

Read because I have fond memories of growing up, spending my time escaping into books and how happy it made me. I miss that feeling!

Write because one day (soon) I want to finish writing a book. But that will never happen unless I actually start writing something.

Exercise mainly because I am tired of hearing myself complain about the way I look. For the last 5 years I have been trying to reach a ‘’magic’’ goal weight and although I got super close to it a few years ago, I haven’t managed to get anywhere near it again.

HOWEVER in keeping with the prompt, if I had to choose one it would probably be Reading. I truly believe that the more you read the more your vocabulary and imagination improves and hopefully motivates you to make a start on your own (if that’s what you want to do).

I must admit that this year reading kind of took a back seat, until Sunday when I was off to the St Patricks Day parade (photos to come). Getting there is a bit of a journey, but it did give me the perfect opportunity to get reading.

Current book: The Girl on The Train. I’m only halfway through but it’s a page turner which I wasn’t expecting. I love when a book surprises me in that way. I hope to be able to write something as compelling one day, which proves my earlier point that reading can sometimes help motivate you to make progress on your own story.

What’s one thing you should do more often?

 

6 Comments

  1. Coming from a total bookworm, I’d say that reading is a great activity to do more often 😉 If you’re looking for suggestions, I would be happy to provide some (depending on what genre(s) you like or what mood you’re in, of course)!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ninette D.S says

      Sure thing! I love reading peoples book recommendations 😀 sci-fi / fantasy , thrillers are what I’m reading at the moment but I read most genres!

      Like

  2. Awesome response – so open. These are all things we should do more often. Reading is something that I’ve also stopped doing, I’ve tried to get back into it but even my all-time favourite authors are not exciting me at the moment. There’s just so much going on that it’s tough to devote time to it. What’s “The Girl on the Train” about? Thanks for your contemplation.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ninette D.S says

      I agree with not always finding the time to devote to reading! Some books you have to really pay attention 🙂 … The girl on the train I believe had been made into a movie, here’s a link about it that explains the story way better than I can 😀 http://m.imdb.com/title/tt3631112/plotsummary?ref_=m_tt_ov_pl … I haven’t finished reading it yet but excited to find out exactly what happened!

      Like

  3. Pingback: Contemplation – Week 4. – musings of a frequent flying scientist

  4. Pingback: Contemplation, Week 5 | XO NIN

Leave a Reply

