Life
Comments 6

Contemplation, Week 3

Hello! And welcome to Week 3 of Contemplation.

Thanks again to Desley from musings of a frequent flying scientist, for starting the Contemplation seriesEach week Desley chooses a prompt from her Kikki.K A Sentence a Day Journal and invites us to share our response. Here are my posts from Week one + two.

Today’s question: What do you like to do in your “me” time?

If you had asked me this a few months ago I would’ve only said:

Put my favourite playlist on blast and dance around the house like an idiot.

As much as I still LOVE doing that, it took me a while I’ve managed to find other things I enjoy doing too. Three months ago I found myself having an abundance of ‘me’ time and in the beginning it wasn’t going as well as I had planned.

I thought I would spend it solely on myself. That I would lock myself in a room and write until my fingers bled, do Yoga every single day or that I would fully immerse myself in daily meditation again without fail and sadly that didn’t happen. I took on challenge’s (30, 7 days etc) to help me, but afterwards I found it extremely difficult to push myself.

After a lot of thought I realized that what must’ve happened is that instead of doing those things because I love them, I was doing them to fill in the time. Not out of love for myself but because if I didn’t I probably wouldn’t have gotten out of bed that day.

Eventually I decided that I should take it back to basics, and learn to do things with intention + love.

Which leads me to today, where I can happily answer the question: What do you
like to do in your “me” time?

  • Listening to Music and dancing around the house. This will always be number 1.
  • Writing stories. I love making up characters, there’s always one I love more than others but seeing them all develop and asking myself questions like: who will they become at the end? I think is an awesome part of writing.
  • Photography. This is a more recent one, but being away from home I think has allowed me to explore different passions. Editing isn’t always fun and can be frustrating BUT after you have a finished photo that you’re happy with, it’s a really nice feeling.
  • Learning new things. I’ve spent some time doing free online courses and I’m currently doing a Mindfulness one which ends this week.
  • Yoga and Meditation. I try not to put so much pressure on myself to do it every day which has helped me to feel happier when I do make it on the mat.

A side note, I don’t think I would ever have come to this conclusion so quickly had I not been doing my Mindfulness course. Seriously, I cannot wait to share with you what I’ve learned! I have never been able to communicate what I feel and why, in a better way than I am (learning to) right now.

What does ‘me’ time look like to you?

Happy Tuesday.

6 Comments

  1. “…learn to do things with intention + love”. That is brilliant. I am so glad that you’re doing that. I love your me-time activities. Thank you again for sharing. X

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Contemplation – Week 3. – musings of a frequent flying scientist

  3. Pingback: Contemplation, Week 4 | XO NIN

  4. Pingback: Contemplation, Week 5 | XO NIN

Leave a Reply

