Life
Comments 8

Contemplation, Week 2

Hello! Hope you are well?

Super excited to share week 2 with you. Thanks again to musings of a frequent flying scientis, for starting Contemplation. Each week Desley chooses a prompt from Kikki.K A Sentence a Day Journal and invites us to share our response. My first week’s post here.

I think this prompt fits perfectly with the tone of how I’m feeling on this gloomy Monday: What would you attempt if you knew you couldn’t fail?

I must admit that it was a bit difficult to answer for many reasons, the major one being it’s not just failure that I’m afraid of, but also the other F … Feedback.

If there was any guarantee that success was on the other side, I would definitely finish up a few of my stories. For as long as I can remember I’ve loved writing stories, sometimes I read them and laugh but other times, I feel a little sad that I didn’t finish them. It could have the potential to be something great, if only I worked harder at making it so.

Feedback stops me every time though. I worry about what people think, how they’ll respond to characters that I have poured my heart into creating. I know that it seems to be a general theme amongst writers, even the ones who have bestsellers under their belts. Although it’s helpful to know that we’re all essentially just as terrified as each other, it doesn’t make it any easier.

Another passion of mine has always been Music. Regardless of where I am in life, my default dream career leads me back to music. When I was younger it was being a famous Singer, as time flew I accepted that this voice probably wouldn’t make a number 1 record, I was obviously ok with that because it hasn’t stopped me belting out a bit of SIA at the top of my lungs every now and again.

After that realisation, I started looking at how else I could get into the industry and thoughts turned to Music Journalism, Talent Scout, even Producing. No matter what the only thing that didn’t change was the connection they share.

During the last few years, whilst being away from home it’s given me lots of time to think about exactly what makes me happy. What would I enjoy waking up every morning and doing? Which lead me onto either working towards being a Festival Organiser or Tour Manager.

The latter makes me giddy, even knowing that sometimes musicians can be up themselves, spoilt and not very nice to be around hasn’t stopped me. The only question now is, how do I get my foot in the door?

The only answer seems to be to start over, and at my age (how cliché right) I know it’ll be really difficult both financially and mentality. But remove failure from this equation and I would start tomorrow. Finish that book, start this Music journey and through hard work get to where I want to be.

Remove failure and what would you attempt?

Have a great week ahead.

8 Comments

  1. So now the big question… Are you going to do any of these things? I think you should definitely finish your stories, you wrote beautifully. I’m with you on the belting out songs when no one is listening, I’ve even picked out my songs should I ever need them for a talent scout or some singing program lol. Julz left me a comment which said that sometimes it can also be the fear of being mediocre, which I guess is similar to what you are saying about feedback. It’s interesting, isn’t it? Why can’t we just bite the bullet and do it? Thanks for joining again, very happy to have you contemplating alongside me X.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ninette D.S says

      It is, I wish we could just bite the bullet and not think about the what ifs! I think I’m going to start with finishing up one of my stories & hope that it spurs me onto going after my music dreams for real, not just in my head :)) I also agree with your friend about the fear of being mediocre, it definitely plays a huge factor!x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Contemplation – Week 2 – musings of a frequent flying scientist

  3. Pingback: Contemplation, Week 3 | XO NIN

  4. Pingback: Contemplation, Week 4 | XO NIN

  5. Pingback: Contemplation, Week 5 | XO NIN

Leave a Reply

