Wellness
Comment 1

Nutrition & What is a Flexitarian?

Although I didn’t have any New Year resolutions, I made a list of things I wanted to focus on, that post here. One of the things on there is: Healthy Body, they’ll be no weight loss targets this time round but I do want to develop a healthier attitude towards food.

After trying to reach that magic goal weight forever, I wanted to understand where I had been going wrong. That’s when I remembered a site called FutureLearn, which offered LOTS of free courses ranging from Science to Script Writing. So Back in January, I decided to do a short (4 week) course called Nutrition & Wellbeing, now that the course is over I wanted to share a few things I learned.

Early on in the course I realised just how little I knew about Nutrition. One of the things I found I had zero knowledge on was, on being a Flexitarian.

The flexitarian approach allows a flexibility to adapt eating patterns with less meat but not cut it out completely. The flexitarian diet is a plant-based diet with the occasional addition of meat. Flexitarians are also known as flexible vegetarians, casual vegetarians or vegivores. Quite simply there are no rules. Some flexitarians will have a meat-free meal once a week (meat-free Monday) while others will only eat meat on rare occasions. – University of Aberdeen

Nutrition & Wellbeing (via FutureLearn)

Another issue I found really interesting, was on what not only mothers BUT fathers should do (where possible) in order to prevent health implications on their children later in life. The study into this area is called Epigenetics.

A research area investigating the effects environmental factors have on gene expression. Current studies suggest that the mother’s and the father’s diets, as well as events during pregnancy, may influence our susceptibility to certain diseases and health conditions. – University of Aberdeen

Nutrition & Wellbeing (via FutureLearn)

Find out more about that, here.

nutrition-blog-4

A few more take away(s) from the course:

  • Eating wholegrains can decrease heart disease by 30%. Diets rich in fish and fish oils have long been identified as protective against the development of cardiovascular diseases.
  • The importance of consuming plant-based foods in both the prevention and management of type 2 diabetes.
  • The health trend towards adopting a ‘’flexitarian’’ diet is increasing in the U.K.
  • That over 160,000 people die every year (in the U.K) from cardiovascular diseases.

Overall I enjoyed the course, it was a good balance of information, videos and things you should do at home i.e keeping a food diary and what to look for in them. Subjects on FL usually repeat, so if you want to find out more about what you eat and how it can affect you long term, visit the site and look for: Nutrition & Wellbeing.

What’s next? In my 2016 list I also spoke about wanting to Stay Mindful and continue with Yoga / Meditation. Luckily they had a course to meet those needs too called: Mindfulness for Wellbeing and Peak Performance by Monash University. It started on the 8th February so I am only halfway through, but it’s been fun and interesting so far!

I’ll share what I find out once it’s finished. In the meantime, have you ever tried to convert to a diet (i.e. Veganism, Pescatarian) what was your experience?

** Photo sources: One, Two.

 

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

