Personal
Comments 3

Birthday Love …

Yesterday was my birthday and to be honest, I had been trying to avoid this particular one for the longest time and whoop there it was. I had been avoiding it because it’s one step closer to the age where everyone puts even MORE pressure on you, to have your ‘’sh*t together’’.

And right now I don’t feel like I do. At. ALL. This post was going to be about not being happy with where I am in life right now, but looking back, that seems SO trivial and irrelevant in light of recent events.

Mr C sadly lost his Grandmother last week. The news is still fresh and understandably it’s not been the best week for him and his family.

Despite everything that’s happened, Mr Cheerful still went out of his way to give me the most memorable and lovely birthday. He showed up for me in ways I can never fully repay him for.

The outpouring of heartfelt messages, and sharing of photos has been touching to witness. What I’ve learned from his family this past week in particular, is that during the darkest hour, memories are incredibly PRECIOUS.

This has made me want to work that much harder in making sure I create SPECIAL moments, with the people I love because at the end of the day, that’s what matters. 

And I couldn’t have wished for a better way to start doing just that, than what Mr C planned. He took me away to Nagano (SNOW MONKEYS) BUT what’s most important is that I am beyond grateful that I was able to spend this time with him.

Look out for photos of Snow Monkeys + Snow, lots and lots of SNOW.

To Mr Cheerful, thank you for choosing to share this experience with me, I love you xo

 

3 Comments

  1. Pingback: Reflection: February | XO NIN

Leave a Reply

